Mayor’s Office

The Mayor is the chief executive officer for the City of Mitchell and presides over the meetings of the City Council. The Mayor is elected by and from the voters of the city at large at the general municipal election, and serves a term of three years.

South Dakota Codified Law 9-8-3 gives further clarification on the duties of the Mayor in the Aldermanic Form of Government.  

Mayor Jerry Toomey was elected in 2015, and his term of office began in July of 2015. His term will expire in 2018.